Nolita

Mom and I had dinner at Nolita last night, near Boni High Street. I wanted to try out this restaurant, as well as the other restaurants in Boni High Street after they got featured in a past issue of Meg magazine. I’ve already been to Sariwon before, but I wouldn’t mind going back there again so I can do a review. ^_^

We arrived there at 4:30 or 5:00 PM, so the place wasn’t that crowded yet. Apparently you have to line up to the counter to place your order.

 photo 10272012.jpg

 photo 10272012_2.jpg

Nolita’s menu. BTW, Nolita is short for ‘North of Little Italy’ ^_^

 photo 10272012_4.jpg

 photo 10272012_6.jpg

 photo 10272012_3.jpg

 photo 10272012_8.jpg

 photo 10272012_7.jpg

 photo 10272012_5.jpg

Interior.

 photo 10271012_9.jpg

I ordered their steak and eggs pizza. It’s definitely just as big, if not bigger, than the pizza slices from S&R. It was really delicious. I had to cut the slice in half so mom and I could share. The steak slices were a little bit big, but it wasn’t tough to chew.

… So right after I read Meg mag’s review a couple of months ago, I decided that once we dine there, I was going to order their deep-fried peanut butter and jelly sandwich. Imagine my disappointment when I went up to the counter, and the cashier told me that their PB&J sandwiches weren’t available. She did tell me to try their strawberry jam sandwich instead.

… Okay. So I ordered the strawberry jam sandwich, went to my seat, and waited for our food. Later, one of the waitresses approached our table holding this wooden board with two sandwiches on it. I thought, ‘Yay, my strawberry jam sandwich is here! Time to eat!’ And then…

Waitress: *daintily sets down the wooden board on the table* Eto na po yung peanut butter and jelly sandwich nyo, ma’am.

… Hmmm. Didn’t the cashier tell me earlier that they were out of PB&J sandwiches? o_O Weird. And my sandwich did have peanut butter in it, so I hadn’t misheard her or anything. I was confused for a while, but afterwards I really didn’t care anymore, coz I can finally try their sandwich. Mwuhahaha.

 photo 10272012_10.jpg

I was a bit surprised with the sandwich itself. The bread slices that they used were huge, too. It was accompanied by a small bowl of sour cream (at least that’s what I think it is) where you dip your sandwich in. It tasted like an ordinary PB&J sandwich :\ It’s something that I can make at home, minus the sour cream dip.

 photo 10272012_11.jpg

We still weren’t full yet by the time we finished eating the pizza and sandwich, so mom ordered their stove top mac and cheese. I couldn’t identify what type of cheese they used. It was gooey, but I don’t think it’s mozzarella since it wasn’t the thick kind of gooey. It was sprinkled with parsley (I think) on top, and had a hint of pepper. I got that queasy feel afterward, but that always happens to me when I eat mac and cheese.

We paid almost P800 in total. The food is good, but it’s pricey for just one giant slice of pizza, a medium-sized bowl of mac and cheese, and a simple PB&J sandwich. I’ll come back, but I’ll probably try something else next time.

 photo 10272012_12.jpg

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

