Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.

Ahhhh, I’m still stuffed from all the tasty shrimp that we ate earlier today! We had dinner at Bubba Gump right after attending Sunday mass. I really couldn’t wait to visit since I hadn’t eaten the entire day. It’s our 2nd time visiting Bubba Gump–The last time we ate there was when we celebrated Mother’s Day a couple of years ago. We came in early so the place wasn’t really crowded (yet.)

Bubba Gump Shrimp Co.’s specialty, is, of course, shrimp. From what I understand, their main dishesare divided into two: The ‘Bubba Shrimp Special’ (Basically just shrimp cooked in a variety of different ways–Steamed, beer battered, skewered, etc.) and the ‘Forrest Favorites’ (Other fish dishes like grilled dory and salmon, plus non-seafood items like ribs, cordon bleu, baked seafood rice, sandwiches and pasta.) Their drinks include smoothies, cocktails, beer, wine, milkshakes, and fruit shakes.

The entire restaurant is Forrest Gump themed–From the decors, to the ‘Run Forrest Run/Stop Forrest Stop’ sign, to the menu items and food descriptions.

My appetizer is their Ping Pong Shimp–Lightly breaded shrimp covered in chilli sauce and salsa. I really missed this coz I would have cravings for it from time to time. Their appetizers were pretty huge. It’s spicy of course, but not enough to make you break out into sweat and reach for a glass of water. ^^; Other appetizers included: Bourbon wings, calamari, mussels, and onion rings.

A nice plate of Jambalaya rice.

We also ordered the Shrimper’s Heaven, which is a platter consisting of four different kinds of shrimp dishes: The shrimp tempura, breaded coconut shrimp, chilly shrimp, and the fried shrimp. Plus three dipping sauces: Tangy Asian, zesty cocktail, and Cajun marmalade (my fave!). I tried everything except for the one without breading. Just posted a picture of the one on the menu since I wasn’t able to take a good shot of our food. .__. *mumbles an apology*

Our other order was the Capt. Fish and chips, served in a gigantic plate (which reminded me of a enormous ashtray, to be honest). The fish was very crispy and savory, but the serving was way too large. Well, for me, anyway.

For dessert, we had the Chocolate Chip Cookie Sundae. I loooooved it. Did I mention chocolate chip cookies are my weakness? ^^ The warm cookie + cold ice cream combo was amazing.

Now I must admit: I am not exactly the biggest fan of shrimp. But I felt like I was floating in shrimp heaven after tonight’s dinner. The shrimp that they used tasted really fresh, and didn’t have that fishy (erm, shrimpy?) aftertaste!

Unfortunately we had to pay P2000+ for our order. YOWZA! o_o But I can say it was all worth it. Like I mentioned earlier, the servings here are large so I suggest you bring your friends or family with you. Oh, and so you guys can split the bill. Hehe. ^^

Last picture before I wrap up this entry: So we had some leftover fish fillet which my grandma ordered for takeout–And it was served to us in this paper bag. Sooooo cute! I actually took an interest to the film itself and read the summary on Wiki… Maybe I should watch it when I get the chance ^^

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

