Yabu: The House of Katsu

I finally satiated my craving for katsu earlier today when me, mom, and some relatives had lunch at Yabu (Robinson’s Magnolia branch). We came in at around 10:30 AM, so we didn’t have to wait for a long while to be seated. We’ve been planning to eat here for the longest time, but it kept getting postponed for a variety of reasons, so I felt like doing cartwheels in glee when our trip finally pulled through.

We were seated outside, so unfortunately, I wasn’t able to get a lot of interior shots… Just this wall decor of a manga strip depicting a young boy who’s training to become a katsu master.

Condiments: Katsu sauce, chili flakes, chili powder, pepper, and salt. Plus goma (sesame dressing) and shouyu (vinaigrette) for the lettuce.

There’s so many things on the menu so I’m gonna have to list them down:
-Appetizers (Edamame beans, hiyayakko tofu, wakame)
-The premium tonkatsu set, made from the meat of the Kurobuta/black Berkshire pig… aka “The Wagyu of pork” *DROOOLSSSSS*
-The regular tonkatsu set
-The menchi katsu set (contains minced beef/pork with creamy cheese) -The seafood katsu set (you can choose from Japanese black tiger prawns, cream dory, salmon, soft-shelled crab, & oysters)
-The mixed katsu set (only for seafood, though)
-The chicken katsu set
-Katsudon
-Katsu curry sets
-Kids meals

They have ala-carte and takeout meals too. Drinks include juice, fruit shakes, bottled water, beer, and sake.

Another appetizer, the Supreme Potato & Egg Salad.

In Yabu, there are two choices for your katsu: The rosu (pork loin cutlet with fat) and the hire (pork tenderloin without fat). I ordered the rosu katsu from the regular tonkatsu set, served with a bowl of unlimited shredded cabbage, fruit, warm miso soup, and a dollop of spicy mustard on the side. And of course, after taking my first bite, I died and flew straight to katsu heaven. ^^ ❤ What I really love about Yabu’s katsu is that unlike the katsu served at other Japanese restaurants, the meat really melts in your mouth, despite the thick cuts.

One of the things that I look forward to when dining at Yabu is grinding their little bowl of sesame seeds into powder with a wooden pestle. But unfortunately, I made the mistake of adding the katsu sauce first before doing the crushing process, so my dip didn’t really come out well. u_u

My mom and aunt shared the katsudon bowl. The rice was a little bit sweet. I love katsudon, but I’m really glad I didn’t order this one coz at that moment I liked my rice plain/chewy and not coated with sauce.

I swear my cousin takes better pictures than I do…

My cousin ordered the salmon, from the seafood katsu set. The salmon tasted really light! And it didn’t have that weird, fishy aftertaste either.

Grandma ordered the ala carte cream dory katsu.

It was a VERY satisfying lunch. In fact, I’m already craving some of their rosu katsu as I type this entry. Maybe I should order a bigger portion next time? ^^;; I really can’t wait to go back and experience katsu nirvana again.

Yabu: The House of Katsu is located at the lower ground floor of Robinson’s Magnolia, New Manila, Quezon City. Contact number: (+632) 961-4975.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

