Spiral @ Sofitel

Warning: Picture-heavy post.

My wonderful parents celebrated their Silver Anniversary yesterday, and because it’s a grand occasion, the three of us headed over to Sofitel Philippine Plaza’s famous Spiral buffet.

I’ve heard about this buffet many times, and it’s supposed to be on the same level as EDSA Shang’s Heat and Crowne Plaza’s Seven Corners buffets. I guess I can consider myself lucky coz I was able to dine in all three sumptuous buffets. Maybe I can do a review of the aforementioned buffets, if I’m luckier? Hehe.

Spiral’s luxurious interior. Check out that elegant spiral staircase!

Our Spiral adventure began with the huge basket of sourdough bread with pesto butter, and regular butter–The dough was soft and flavorful with bits of nuts embedded inside it. The bread’s crust was tough and flaky, but I think that’s how sourdough bread’s crust is supposed to be. ^^ I didn’t want to eat too much though, since I need to make some space in my stomach for more food.

And off we go!!!

This area houses the Chinese, Korean, North Indian, and Japanese stations, plus the pizza and pasta station.

Mom and I shared this plate of freshly-cooked pesto pasta with bacon!

Pumpkin soup.

Unlimited green tea of course, to help us with digestion. Hehe ^^;

By the way, most of their food isn’t really labelled so I’ll just describe them from the way they looked/tasted like.

Plate 1:
-Lechon macau
-Thin-crusted meat pizza
-Roast pork
-Peking duck, with thin crispy skin and flavorful meat. I really wanted to get another piece–Too bad it’s laden in cholesterol T_T
-A piece of tuna maki
-Two pieces of tuna sushi (My fave!)
-The circular yellow one was something that I got from the dimsum section–It had a piece of shrimp inside it.
-A small, yet salty croissant.
-Cheese and broccoli gratin.
-Spicy slices of fried potatoes.
-The deep-fried brown one also came from the dimsum section: Sweet on the inside, and filled with ground pork. Was instantly addicted after taking the first bite.

Plate 2, mostly Korean fare:
-Two more pieces of those sweet, deep-fried thingies with ground pork. Did I mention I was addicted? ^^;
-Huge slices of kimchi.
-Two types of pork kalbi: Spicy, and non-spicy.
-A piece of tempura. Like the Peking duck, its skin was light and crisp.
-Veggie jeon (pancake).
-Chicken yakitori.
-Rice. They kept three types of Korean rice in huge pots, but I only got two–Plain, and one with beans.

Mom’s sukiyaki, and dad’s noodle soup.

While taking a break from all that munching, I decided to walk around and take pictures of the buffet area.

This room is like a mini-delicatessen where you can get thin slices of cheese and cured meat, like prosciutto and Spanish jamon.

But it all came to an abrupt end when this *bleeep!* security guy told us to stop taking pictures of the buffet. u_u

My dessert. A lone marshmallow stick, and a bunch of chocolate chip cookies, coated with chocolate from Spiral’s three (Yep–THREE!) chocolate fountains. To quote Ashley Tisdale’s character in High School Musical… THESE COOKIES ARE GENIUS! Not too sweet, and not too crispy–Just the way I like ’em. You can purchase a box of these heavenly cookies from Spiral 2 Go! They also sell macarons and wine.

And lastly, a fluffy piece of bibingka, and puto bumbong.

What an experience! ^^ The food was amazing, the interiors were fabulous, and the staff was very hospitable and accommodating, as expected from a world-class hotel. My cousin was right–You can’t pick the same food twice coz there’s just way too many options. x_x If given the chance to dine here again, I won’t pass it up for sure.

Spiral is located at the Sofitel Philippine Plaza Manila Hotel, Roxas Boulevard, CCP Complex, Pasay, Metro Manila, Philippines. Tel nos. (+63 2) 551-5555, (+63 2) 832-6988.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

