Ryu Ramen & Curry

What luck!!! It hasn’t been too long since my last visit to Tomas Morato, but I was able to score a trip again since my dad had to meet up with a friend who lives in that area. I also grabbed the opportunity to finally head over to Ryu Ramen & Curry to try their dishes. I know it hasn’t been too long since my last ramen entry either, but we didn’t have any other choice (Actually there’s still Casa Filipino, but I think that place is reserved for special occasions.)

The interior looks a bit different from what I expected. o_o

Menu: Appetizers, Ala-carte (Tonkatsu, karaage, tamanegi, ebi tempura), Rice (Gohan, chahan), Ramen (Miso butter corn, chasyu, ryu ramen curry), Curry (Katsucheese curry, tori katsu curry, tori karaage curry, pork gyoza curry, ebi furai curry, beef tendon curry), and Dessert.

They also have the Specialty Japanese Sandwiches, which is served from 11AM to 5 PM. We had lunch there at around 4 in the afternoon, but when I tried ordering one, the waitress told me that they were temporarily not available!!! Disappointing >__<

A little bit of trivia for you ^^

Mom and I ordered the Little Ryu Ramen, split into two. We really wish we hadn’t done that, coz when they say little… They do mean LITTLE. Look at the size of that thing!!! It’s almost cute, actually. 😡 But what it lacks in size, it makes up for in taste. The broth was flavorful and savory, and the noodles were thin and chewy. It had a lot of ground pork and veggies in it. Mom liked the tender slices of chasyu.

Dad ordered the Tantanmen, which was served in a (slightly) bigger bowl.

Gyoza. The gyoza in Ryu can be cooked in two different ways—Pan-fried, or deep-fried. You can also choose between pork gyoza, or chicken and shrimp gyoza. I wanted to try their Teba (chicken wing) Gyoza, but apparently, it takes around 20 minutes to prepare >_<

All in all, everything tasted amazing. What I liked about Ryu Ramen & Curry was that the ramen bowls weren’t TOO big (unlike other ramen places), giving your stomach more room to try some of the other stuff on their menu. However, I’m just a little bit upset that I wasn’t able to try the dishes that I want.

Ryu Ramen & Curry is located at the Upper ground floor of MJB building, 220 Tomas Morato Ave. Corner Dr. Lazcano St., Quezon City.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

