Wildflour Cafe + Bakery

A Cronut craze is currently going on here in Manila.

I have read about these lovely baked delights in several websites/newspapers, but I never thought I’d get the chance to actually try one myself. So when I found out that Wildflour Café + Bakery was creating their own version (called the croissant donut) I planned a trip to their newly-opened branch at The Podium right away so I can discover what the hullabaloo is all about. I actually wanted to visit Wildflour waaaay before this whole Cronut mania started since I heard that they serve delicious, freshly-baked bread and delicious, freshly-baked bread is one of my favorite things in general. Hehe.

They only had one copy of the menu, so I wasn’t able to list the items down. (You can find them here at Munchpunch.)

As expected, there was a line. Thank goodness it wasn’t that long, though. Whew! Unfortunately, when it was my turn to order, the lady at the counter told me that they were fresh out of croissant donuts and I had to wait until 5PM for the next batch!!! Ugh.

… So I ended up ordering their version of Kouign Aman instead–Slightly toasted on the outside, with a sweet, glazed center.

For our main dish, we had the Croque Madame, which consists of ham, gooey gruyere cheese, a thick slice of bread, with an egg on top. Unlike last time, we made the right decision of splitting this dish into half. I actually felt full afterward.

I also had their hot chocolate (which, I have to say, goes really well with the Croque Madame) for my drink. When I noticed that it came in a small mug, I got nervous coz I thought it was going to taste exactly like the extremely bitter, Spanish-type hot chocolate. I was wrong—This mug of chocolate (literally) warmed my heart. Although it tasted a little bit too sweet, and it sometimes felt like I was drinking a mug of melted chocolate pudding.

While finishing the last few bites of my Croque Madame, I kept checking the time to see if 5 PM had struck. When the time on my cellphone read 5:09 PM, I immediately sprung into action and started lining up again.

So… Did we make it?

*insert Handel’s ‘Hallelujah’ chorus here*

It was absolutely heavenly, the buttery taste of the croissant donut’s flaky dough mixed well with the sugary strawberry frosting. It also had strawberry cream inside. Every bite felt amazing, and definitely worth the PhP 120.00 that I shelled out.

I’m really grateful that I got to try this much-talked about tasty pastry delight. Wildflour itself is also a haven for remarkable baked goods.

Wildflour Cafe + Bakery is located at G/F The Podium, ADB Avenue, Wack Wack, Mandaluyong. Tel no: (02) 571-8588. You can also find them at Fort Bonifacio.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

