Mitsuyado Sei-Men

It’s been a really, really long time since I last came to Jupiter street in Makati! It’s changed so much. So many new restaurants have opened up, yet I’m glad that some of the old ones are still standing. Two relatively new places that caught my eye were Yamato Bakery & Café, along with its next-door neighbor—And the subject of this entry—Mitsuyado Sei-Men.

I’ve been hearing about Mitsuyado Sei-Men’s famous cheese tsukemen (which literally translates to ‘dipping noodles’) ever since they did a review for it on Spot. And now I’m glad that I’m about to get the chance to try it myself.

The interior looks really cool!!! It’s like I stepped into the world of Naruto, Samurai X, or one of those epic taiga J-doramas from NHK. ^^; I was half-expecting (well, not really) a group of ninjas or samurais to burst through the walls, hehe.

Menu: Tsukemen (Yuzu tsukemen, Ajitama tsukemen), Special tsukemen (Karashi tsukemen, Curry tsukemen, Sichuan tan-tan tsukemen), Extra toppings, Ramen (Shoyu, Charsiu, Miso, Hakata, Tonkotsu), Ae-soba, Donburi rice (Oyakodon, Chicken black pepper don, Unagidon, Gyudon, Japanese curry rice (Vegetable curry rice, Chicken katsu curry rice), Side orders (Edamame), Dessert (Strawberry kakigori, Hawaiian blue kakigori, Black sesame ice cream, Cream anmitsu), and Drinks.

Trivia time!

My dad ordered their Miso Ramen. You can choose if you want thick noodles, or thin.

Japanese Fried Rice, plus Gyoza, and (not pictured) Ebi Tempura, naturally.

Pork Katsu Strips. Light and crispy, plus the combination of the meat and the dipping sauce create a wonderful marriage.

And here it is! Mitsuyado’s famous Cheese Tsukemen!! Although in my case, I ordered the Double Cheese Tsukemen… Although I can’t really tell the difference between this dish and the regular cheese tsukemen. More noodles? More cheese sauce? Anyway, there’s only three steps on how to eat this noodle dish: 1.) Pour the cheese sauce all over the noodles, 2.) Mix it all up, 3.) Dip it in the broth. I tried both versions of the cheese-covered noodle, and I have to say it tastes so much better when it’s dipped in the broth. The broth itself has a very strong, salty taste with bits of fishcake, mushroom, leeks and meat floating in it. You can choose between hot or cold noodles for your tsukemen—But I suggest that they also provide the diners with a choice between thin or thick noodles too, just like their ramen.

Okay, I need to be honest here…. In the end, I realized that cheese tsukemen isn’t exactly my favorite type of noodle dish. But this dish, as well as the other dishes in Mitsuyado Sei-Men, are hearty, filling, and a must-try for Japanese food aficionados.

Mitsuyado Sei-Men is located at 22 Jupiter St., Bel-Air, Makati. Tel nos: (02) 511-1390.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

