Sarsa

Hey, everyone! Sorry if I haven’t been updating this blog as often as I used to, especially during the past couple of weeks. My job gave me three huge assignments to work on, which literally took away most of my energy >_< Plus we had to go find a new keyboard since our old one started acting up… But now hopefully everything is fine and I can start updating regularly again!

For our (early) Mother’s Day celebration, we headed over to The Fort and had lunch at Sarsa. Sarsa specializes in Filipino food (if you can’t tell from its name), Negrenese cuisine, to be specific. This restaurant is owned by Chef JP Anglo, aka Chef Jayps from Pinoy Masterchef.

Their interior is very simple and clean, and is supposed to resemble an ancestral house in Negros.

Menu: JP-Q grilled sticks, Sum-suman, Dahon, Sabaw, Pancit at iba pa, Baka, Manok, Baboy, Pagka-on sa dagat, Utan, Kan-on, Tam-is, Ilimnon

Pritchon Pancakes. I was actually expecting the pieces to be a lot smaller and thinner. Really nice and crispy, and I love its spicy hoisin dipping sauce.

Sarsa Batchoy Regular. Savory and comforting, like a warm hug. One of the best bowls of La Paz batchoy I’ve had (so far). This dish is perfect for those cold, rainy days when you just want to relax and read a good book.

Tortang Talong with Crispy Sardines and Quesong Puti. I had a few bites of this dish, and I think it’s a little bit too salty for my taste, probably because of the sardines. I think I prefer mom’s homemade tortang talong more. ^^; It goes well with the ketchup dipping sauce, though.

We tried their Banana Tsokolate Turon for dessert. I was expecting them to use the bitter, Spanish-type chocolate for this dish, but I was pleasantly surprised to see that they used plain old milk chocolate (or was it Chocnut? I swear it tasted a little bit like Chocnut). It’s yummy, but not the best.

My parents tried their Sizzling Bangus ala Pobre, with plain rice.

If you want to dine on some delicious home-cooked Negrenese cuisine with a bit of contemporary flair, then Sarsa is the perfect place for you. Some advice, though: Do give them a call and make a reservation if you’re planning to have lunch or dinner here, since the restaurant can get pretty packed. ^^;

Sarsa is located at Unit 1-7 Forum South Global, Federacion Dr cor 7th Ave Fort Bonifacio, Taguig. Tel no: (0927) 706-0773.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

