Roku Sushi + Ramen

Roku is a Japanese restaurant tucked inside one of the Katipunan’s tall concrete buildings. I have wanted to visit this restaurant for a really long time, but I kept putting it off. After seeing an article about the restaurant inside one of my favorite fashion magazines this month, I decided that it was time to finally visit this place. This resto is very popular with college students, since it’s conveniently located near some of the country’s famous universities.

Interior.

Menu: Starters, Sushi and sashimi, Sushi rolls, Donburi, Ramen, Ramen top-ups, Tempura, Yakitori, Ala-carte, and Dessert.

Skipped the gyoza this time and tried their Dream Roll. This light yet tasty roll includes tempura-battered salmon and cream cheese.

Gyuniku Ramen. The sukiyaki-thin beef slices were so tender, the noodles had the right amount of thickness/consistency, and the shoyu-based broth was filled with tons of flavor. It also had an egg, shiitake mushrooms and bok choy mixed in. I have to say that I think I made the right choice in picking my ramen. ^^

Salmon Donburi – Pan-seared salmon mixed with scrambled eggs and teriyaki sauce.

For dessert, we tried their heavenly Green Tea Cheesecake. Not too sweet, and not too plain – Just exactly what I love in a cake. You can really taste the matcha/green tea flavors in this slice of cake.

I guess the only complaint that we have about Roku is that the food is just a teensy-bit overprized, compared to other ramen joints/Japanese restaurants. Oh, and the coffee that they served dad was cold. But that didn’t stop me from enjoying my meal here, and I’ll be sure to come back soon. I’m also hoping that this restaurant would put up other branches, so more people can get the opportunity to try their fabulous dishes.

Roku Sushi + Ramen is located at 5/F Oracle Bldg, Katipunan Ave Loyola Heights, Quezon City. Tel no: (02) 352-5780. Links: Facebook.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

