Kettle

After attending mass, we went over to Shangri-La mall’s east wing to have dinner at Kettle. This restaurant is owned by the same group of families behind Tender Bob’s, and two Subic restos – Meat Plus Café (which I’m planning to review the next time I head back there), and Chef Samurai. I have been hearing rave reviews about their food, especially their buttermilk fried chicken, and since I am a huge fan of fried chicken (especially boneless fried chicken hehe), I just knew that I had to go and try out this restaurant.

This is the only shot that I could get of their interior, since we were seated outside.

Menu: Soups and Appetizers, Salads, Sandwiches, Main course, Pasta, Sides, Beverage, Coffee and hot tea, Desserts, Wine list.

Here’s their famous Pork and Potato Strips – Potato strips mixed with little bits of crunchy pork belly, fried herbs, aioli, and truffle oil. Eh, it was alright. This dish is recommended if you brought a large group of friends with you.

Of course, I couldn’t resist ordering their French Onion Soup! This one has gruyere cheese, fontina, and toasted baguettes. Very warm and hearty. On the right is a bowl of steamed rice.

Our main course was Kettle’s other signature dish – Buttermilk Fried Chicken. I must say this dish is definitely worth the hype. The meat was juicy, and the skin was extra crispy. The cornbread pieces were moist too! Since I like sweet and salty food combinations, I kept dipping my chicken inside the small bowl of Cajun honey, instead of the country gravy.

Truffle Gorgonzola pasta, with truffle cream, fried basil, and parmesan. This was alright – The pasta was nice and thin, and I’m really glad they served it in a small bowl.

Everything tasted heavenly, but I did feel a little bit queasy afterwards. But if given a chance, I wouldn’t hesitate trying their delicious buttermilk fried chicken again. This restaurant is highly recommended to those who love comfort food or southern-style food.

Kettle is located at the 5/F Shangri-la Plaza Mall, East Wing, Shaw Blvd Wack Wack, Mandaluyong. Tel no: (02) 654-7077. A branch will be opening up in SM Aura very soon. Links: Facebook.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

