Shrimp Bucket

Ah, shrimp – The fruit of the sea, according to the film ‘Forrest Gump’. If you know me, I’m very, veeeeeerrrrryyyyy picky when it comes to shrimp because of its taste – I cannot eat shrimp raw, and the only shrimp dish that I can eat without any complaints whatsoever is Wendy’s shrimp sandwich. I’m even picky when it comes to shrimp tempura. But even though I have a sworn love-hate relationship with this edible creature, I still paid a visit to Shrimp Bucket to try their food, hoping to find a way to get really acquainted with the cuisine’s specialty.

The interior was very, very cramped.

Menu: Starters & salads, Other mains, Sides, Dessert, Shakes & smoothies, Special shrimp iced teas, Soft drinks and juices, Sangria by the carafe, Our margaritas, Cocktails, and Beers.


I’m so glad that I ordered their Lemon Raspberry Iced Tea, since it helps get rid of the shrimp’s bleach-like taste.

Chicken & Shrimp Lettuce Wrap. This was an exceptionally good appetizer – Minced pieces of chicken and shrimp that you can wrap in small lettuce leaves and pop in your mouth.

For our main dish, we ordered Bags by the Pound. This is literally a bag of steamed shrimp drenched in your dip of choice. We were supposed to try it with the coconut dip, but our waitress recommended the Salty Eggsperience dip instead. Of course, I was slightly hesitant to try the pieces of shrimp, but after eating my first piece… Wow. The shrimp absolutely lacked the fishy taste that I really hated. It was very clean and fresh. And the waitress was right – The salted egg dip does give the shrimp pieces some zing. I think I ate around five pieces of shrimp that day.

Our other main dish was their Fish Fillet with Spicy Sesame Sauce. The fish pieces were very tender. The sauce wasn’t as spicy as I thought it would be, but that’s okay.


For our dessert, we tried their Sollie’s Tapioca in Coconut Milk. Slightly disappointing.

I was pleasantly surprised to learn that all three of us enjoyed our meal at Shrimp Bucket (in fact, the only complaint that my parents had was that the dip was too salty). I think it’s safe to say that this won’t be our last trip to this restaurant.

Shrimp Bucket is located at G/F Grand Hamptons Tower 1, 31st St cor 2nd Ave Fort Bonifacio, Taguig. Tel no: (02) 550-2898. You can also find them at the UP Town Center.

Tagged: , ,

One thought on “Shrimp Bucket

  1. […] know you guys are probably thinking… ‘Didn’t we already do this before’? Mind you, this is a different restaurant – Although thanks to its name/concept, sometimes one […]

Leave a Reply

