Hotstar Large Fried Chicken

I have always loved Taiwanese-style chicken chops – My favorites are the ones that come from milk tea shops like Serenitea and Chatime. I love the excellent combination of the peppery, crispy skin and the boneless chicken meat.

Recently, my cousins took my grandmother to this restaurant in Shaw Boulevard called Hotstar Taiwanese Fried Chicken. Mind you, it’s very hard to please her appetite because she’s so PICKY. But guess what – Hotstar’s crispy chicken earned her praises, and it’s now one of her favorite restaurants. So I myself wanted to find out more about her budding addiction to these babies. I already knew about Hotstar’s first branch located in Pasay, so I was really glad that they opened up two more branches near my house (the one in Shaw Boulevard, and one in Eastwood, which we visited).

As expected in a new establishment, the place was filled with curious customers.

Menu.

I tried the Original Large Fried Chicken (left), while dad had the Large Crispy Fish. I was expecting to be wowed by the flavor of the chicken, but it didn’t have enough spice in it. The serving was huge though, and it definitely overpowered the small cup of rice that came with the dish, hehe. The chicken fillet itself was super thick – One consisted of purely meat, while the other had bones in it.

Mom had the Classic Spaghetti, which she really liked.

It was great, but I still prefer the ones served in my favorite milk tea shops. In my opinion, they could still improve the quality of their chicken – The flavor, especially. But I do have this feeling that Hotstar is going to gain a steady following in the future, because 1.) It’s cheap, and 2.) Delicious. I just hope I’m right.

Ambiance/Interior: 4.5/5 (they need more seats! plus I noticed that they don’t have a fire exit… <_<)
Staff/Service: 5/5
Food: 4/5 (taste), 3/5 (presentation)

Hotstar Large Fried Chicken is located at the second floor of Eastwood Citywalk 2, Libis, Quezon City. Links: Facebook.

Tagged: , ,

Leave a Reply

