Green Pastures

Ever since I was rushed to the hospital nearly a month ago due to a stomach bug + eating too much greasy food, I’ve been trying my best to eat healthy, whether I’m doing a restaurant review or just eating some simple, home-cooked food. In my head, I’ve compiled a short list of the organic/healthy restaurants that I want to visit – And Green Pastures just happens to be one of them.

Green Pastures, owned by Chef Robby Goco of Cyma fame, took the restaurant’s name from his quest to search for the freshest ingredients to use for his dishes. All of the food used in this resto does not contain any MSG or preservatives, and are grown by local farmers.

The interior was slightly cramped, but that’s just fine. I think their branch in Eastwood is slightly bigger.

Menu (Organic Provisions): Large plates, Small plates, Soup, Do-it-yourself salad bar, Signature salads, Whole grain bowls, First course, Specialty pasta, Meat and bread, Faux rice, Commandable mains, Grill, Sides.

Drinks menu (Liquid provisions): Water, Iced tea made with organic honey, Local organic citrus in season, Kombucha tea, Cold-pressed elixirs, Smoothies

My drink was their delicious Salted Caramel smoothie with hints of salted caramel, pineapple, mango, and banana – Truly a sweet and all-natural combo.

Then we had the Roast Organic Chicken, swimming in konbu brine broth, lemon, grilled asparagus, and jus. The meat was packed with so much flavor, and you can even drink the broth by itself because it’s not too salty.

Our second viand was the GP Porkchop, a huge piece of roasted pork with cinnamon butter, roasted potatoes, and guava jam. The potatoes were nice and slightly crisp, while the pork had this strong, meaty flavor to it and goes well with the sweet guava jam.

Yang Chow Cauliflower Rice, with 8-hour roast pork, river shrimp, 142-degree egg, green peas, carrots, scallions, and lettuce mixed in. Okay, I admit – I got a little excited about wanting to try cauliflower fried “rice” especially after watching this video that I saw on Buzzfeed. But I guess I expected too much because it tasted quite bland, even though it already had eggs/meat/seafood/other veggies mixed in. I guess it was my fault too because I resisted adding some salt and pepper to it, because I felt like it would ruin the essence of the dish. Hehe. >_<

Everything that we ordered was gluten-free, so I didn’t feel guilty at all about stuffing myself and feeling a tad bit full after eating. ^^

For dessert, we all shared this piece of Kouign Aman bread with Mt. Atok coffee, with beans coming from the Cordillera region. It is described as having a “smooth texture with balanced body and acidity”. I found it really cool that each type of coffee bean came from different parts of the country and had different flavors, despite it producing the same drink.

Even though the food is too pricey for my taste, I still think it’s great that restaurants like these are helping Pinoys be more conscious with their health by eating the right food (and exercising, of course). Another thing that I love is that this resto supports the local farming industry, and it makes people aware that this country can produce great produce (pun intended).

Ambiance/Interior: 5/5
Staff/Service: 4.5/5
Food: 3.5/5 (taste), 5/5 (presentation)

Green Pastures is located at 4/F Shangri-la Plaza Mall, East Wing, Shaw Blvd Wack Wack, Mandaluyong. Tel no: (02) 654-3219. Links: Facebook.

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

