Wild Ginger

Earlier today, my parents and I dined at Wild Ginger for the second time. I could barely remember any concrete details regarding our first visit to this Southeast Asian restaurant, since it happened eons ago – All I know was that we ordered their take on adobo, as well as some pad thai. The reason why I chose pad thai was because it was considered as one of the best in Manila. Anyway, I came back to Wild Ginger so I could try some of their other delicacies.

Interior. Nothing too fancy-schmancy.

Menu: Nibblers and starters, Pork, Soup, Salads, Beef, Chicken, Noodles, Dessert, Vegetarian and side dishes, Fish, Drinks.

Roti Prata with Curry Dipping Sauce – Indian flaky bread, and one of Wild Ginger’s most popular dishes. The roti pieces were thick and less greasy, compared to other Asian restaurants that I’ve been too. Very nice.

Beef Rendang – Indonesian beef stew. I decided to try out this dish instead of ordering the Pad Thai, which we tried out the last time we came here. OMG – I feel like Beef Rendang in general is slowly becoming one of my favorites, the more I get to try it. The slow-cooked chunks of beef practically melted in my mouth, and their curry had this harmonious balance of spicy and sweet – As if each and every ingredient wants to make their presence known.

Premium Oxtail Kare-Kare – A favorite local stew with vegetables, and bagoong on the side.

Crispy Tawilis – Special native whitebait fried with loads of garlic.

For dessert, we had their Sticky Toffee Pudding – The texture/taste of this British-Australian based dish kinda resembled a typical moist banana cake, but it’s still delicious, especially when combined with the toffee sauce. “Murderously addictive”, indeed.

Compared to last time, I think my dinner here was so much better… Not that my previous visit to Wild Ginger was bad, but I’m sure you get my drift. I’ll be sure to return here so I can try their beef rendang (and their pad thai too!) for the second time.

Ambiance/Interior: 4/5
Staff/Service: 5/5
Food: 5/5 (taste), 4/5 (presentation)

Wild Ginger is located at Power Plant Mall, Estrella St cor Rockwell Dr Rockwell Center, Makati. Tel no: (02) 898-1859. Links: Facebook.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

