Cafe Platito

I took notice of this restaurant while having merienda with my family at the Café Breton branch nearby, during one of our many Tagaytay trips this year. There was just something that drew me to the place, it was probably the quaint, homey atmosphere, giving off the impression that it served nice, home-cooked snacks like sandwiches, omelettes and such.

Interior that isn’t really an interior. They also have a small shop of some sort, selling pouches and wallets.

Menu.

Longganiza. According to my mom, the longganisa was severely undercooked.

Fish and Chips. This could’ve been a perfect dish if the skin wasn’t TOO. DARN. SALTY. I was half-expecting the pieces of fish to have tiny bones in them, good thing there weren’t any. On the bright side, it did have a soft, melt-in-your-mouth consistency which was pleasant, although I couldn’t help but think that the fish that they used here were those ready-to-eat frozen fillets that you can find in the supermarket.

… Honestly I really have nothing else to say about this restaurant. In fact, it kind of baffles me how they have managed to stay open for such a long time (I came across a review of this place dating back to 2008), but I guess I’m just gonna assume that some people actually like their stuff? Oh well. To each their own.

Ambiance/Interior: 2.5/5
Staff/Service: 5/5
Food: 2.5/5 (taste), 3/5 (presentation)

Cafe Platito is located at Cliffhouse, Aguinaldo Highway, Tagaytay City. Links: Facebook

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a Reply

