Red Engine/Downtown Pizza & Pasta

During a trip to Tagaytay, I finally got the opportunity to step inside the city’s famous Sky Ranch amusement park. I was already planning to do a review of one of the restaurants found inside the park, called Red Engine – But imagine my surprise when I found out that this diner actually shared its space with another restaurant, called Downtown Pasta & Pizza.

Interior.

The two menus, side by side. I find the contrast between the two restaurants slightly amusing.

Red Engine’s menu: 1st Gear (Appetizers), 2nd Gear (Soups), 3rd Gear (Salads), Mexican treat starters, 4th Gear (Rice plates), Prix Fix Meal, Red Engine Assembly Line (Burgers, Pastas, Sandwiches, Meat station), 5th Gear (Desserts), and Coolants.

Downtown’s menu: Zuppa, Antipasto, Insalate, Panini, Pasta, Pizza, Stuffed calzone, Piati alla grigla, Ali di pollo, Bistecca, Dolce, Razzle, Fruity shakes, Frost, Bevarde, Fredo, Birra e vino, Caldo.

One Hot Chick – Deep fried chicken fillet tossed in buffalo sauce, with fresh green lettuce and sweet caramelized onions. Nope, I did not use an Instagram filter for this photo – The hamburger buns are really red! I guess this must be the reason why the place is called Red Engine. IDK. Anyway, this burger wasn’t so bad – The chicken was fresh, although I couldn’t help but think about the possible chemicals that were used to give the bun its color. ._. Oh, and the buffalo sauce that they used was quite mild, so this chick isn’t really THAT hot after all. Still a good chicken sandwich, though.

Mango Shrimp Salad with ripe mangoes, fresh lettuce, shrimp, croutons, tossed in honey mustard dressing.

Far East Meatballs – Oven-baked meatballs topped with pomodoro sauce and mozzarella cheese. Eh, nothing too special, except for the sauce and the layer of gooey cheese on top. I think I can easily make this at home. This is the only dish that we ordered from the Downtown menu.

Red Spaghetti – Made with ground beef, bacon, and hotdog slices.

A moist Brownie Ala Mode for dessert.

… Eh. It was so-so. But I would probably come back so I could try more of Downtown’s menu or Red Engine’s other dishes.

Red Engine and Downtown Pizza & Pasta are located at Sky Ranch, Tagaytay-Nasugbu Highway, Tagaytay City. You can also find them at Makati.

Tagged: , , ,

Leave a comment